KERRY KING: ‘I’m Nowhere Near Being Done’

The electric atmosphere of the Los Angeles Forum set the stage on fire just before midnight on Saturday, November 30, 2019. A momentous night marked by SLAYER’s Kerry King taking center stage, his signature chains hanging from his belt. Walking over to stage right, he unhooked the chains and held them high, dropping them onto the stage floor before turning around and confidently striding off.

“I knew early on that I wasn’t done, and I had no intention of not continuing to play,” reflected Kerry.

With enough material for two full albums, all penned by King himself, the anticipation for his solo project was palpable in 2020 before the COVID pandemic reshaped plans. Set to debut on May 17, “From Hell I Rise,” King’s first solo album, showcases his prowess on lead guitar, backed by an all-star lineup – drummer Paul Bostaph (SLAYER), bassist Kyle Sanders (HELLYEAH), Phil Demmel (formerly of MACHINE HEAD) on lead guitar, and vocalist Mark Osegueda (DEATH ANGEL). Produced by Josh Wilbur (KORN, LAMB OF GOD, AVENGED SEVENFOLD, BAD RELIGION), the majority of the album was recorded at Henson Studios in Los Angeles over a mere two weeks, wrapping up in June.

“After three days in the studio, Paul and I passed each other in the hall, and I said, ‘You know what? This is f*cking fun!’ We were just having a great time!” shared Kerry.

Wilbur, reflecting on working with the legendary guitarist, remarked, “I didn’t know what to think. You know, it’s Kerry King from SLAYER who I’ve heard a million times. He’s a very strong presence. I wouldn’t say Kerry has an ego, but he has confidence in himself, which is a good thing. That’s what you want in your rock stars and in your band.”

According to King, the new music delves into “various religious topics, some war entries, heavy stuff, punky stuff, doomy stuff, and spooky stuff, with Herculean speeds achieved. If you’ve ever liked any SLAYER throughout any part of our history,” he adds, “there’s something on this record that you’ll get into, be it classic punk, fast punk, thrash, or just plain heavy metal!”

Simultaneously, King unveiled the release of “Idle Hands,” the inaugural track from his solo venture. It’s a sonic onslaught – fast, aggressive, and poised to slam listeners against a metaphorical brick wall, leaving them breathless and hungry for more.

“All of us at RPM are very excited to be working with Kerry King, and it’s an honor to be working on his first solo album,” expressed Reigning Phoenix Music co-founder Gerardo Martinez.

With a record already in the can, King declared, “Even with a record in the can, I’ve still got so many songs that need to be finished. This is what I know how to do… number one being music, number two being metal. It’s been a part of my life for 40 years, and I’m nowhere near being done.”

A luminary in thrash/punk/metal, Kerry King, over nearly four decades, has left an indelible mark as a musician. Recognized for co-writing SLAYER’s most cherished songs, his influence extends through classics like “Mandatory Suicide,” “Repentless,” “Hell Awaits,” “Disciple,” and “Raining Blood.” An unwavering fan of the Raiders, snakes, and Jägermeister, King’s authenticity, outspokenness, and musical prowess define his persona. A self-proclaimed “metal kid,” Kerry King is a force that continues to shape the landscape of heavy music.

“From Hell I Rise” Track Listing:

01. Diablo
02. Where I Reign
03. Residue
04. Idle Hands
05. Trophies Of The Tyrant
06. Crucifixation
07. Tension
08. Everything I Hate About You
09. Toxic
10. Two Fists
11. Rage
12. Shrapnel
13. From Hell I Rise

1 thought on “KERRY KING: ‘I’m Nowhere Near Being Done’”

Leave a Comment